Author Topic: Jeopardy! Score Change Question  (Read 1028 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PatrickRox80

  • Double Showcase Winner
  • ******
  • Posts: 4841
Jeopardy! Score Change Question
« on: April 16, 2020, 11:01:49 PM »
Has a scoring change in Jeopardy! ever affected a contestant's eligibility for Final? For instance, a contestant having $0 or a negative score after Double Jeopardy! coming back after a judge during the break reviewed a response to be acceptable. Or, a contestant originally qualifying for Final not being able to play due to losing enough money on a revised ruling.

Offline Ccook

  • Double Showcase Winner
  • ******
  • Posts: 3698
  • 64 years of The Price Is Right
Re: Jeopardy! Score Change Question
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2020, 10:18:48 AM »
After nearly 36 years, I'm pretty sure it's happened. Probably happened on the Fleming-era edition as well.
Bureaucracy is cutting the red tape lengthwise.

Offline Briguy

  • Double Showcase Winner
  • ******
  • Posts: 1574
Re: Jeopardy! Score Change Question
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2020, 11:20:10 AM »
They've usually caught mistakes in rulings, scoring, etc., very quickly, so if it happens, 99 percent of the time the affected contestant(s) will be notified before the Final Jeopardy! category is announced.

Brian

Offline mechamind

  • Taking a Bonus Spin
  • *****
  • Posts: 779
  • Looking for the next hug winner.
    • Mechamind Boards
Re: Jeopardy! Score Change Question
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2020, 01:13:31 PM »
I believed it happened on June 15, 2005 (check the archive, AS YOU LIKE IT for $2,000). Hard to be sure of the direct impact, but the difference affected the game.

Offline mechamind

  • Taking a Bonus Spin
  • *****
  • Posts: 779
  • Looking for the next hug winner.
    • Mechamind Boards
Re: Jeopardy! Score Change Question
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2020, 09:57:08 PM »
Wait. Unless you absolutely meant the ruling was after the end of the Double Jeopardy! round?

Offline PatrickRox80

  • Double Showcase Winner
  • ******
  • Posts: 4841
Re: Jeopardy! Score Change Question
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2020, 10:26:15 PM »
Wait. Unless you absolutely meant the ruling was after the end of the Double Jeopardy! round?

Yes, that's what I meant.