Author Topic: Conversation About The Price is Right Isn't Always So Easy: A Comedy Sketch?  (Read 1910 times)

Offline FloridaAdam

• Walking the Golden Road
Hello, everyone.  I don't usually post too often but have always enjoyed being able to visit and share in experiences and perspectives held by loyal friends and true.  I wanted to take this opportunity to share a, well, what I think is something of a unique experience this week which relates to TPIR and see what you think.

To provide some quick background, I am 32 and a corporate attorney, who also is fortunate to be in his sixth year as an adjunct professor of political science at a major private university in South Florida; I'd tell you which university it is, but I don't want to embarrass the students about whom I'm going to tell you a story more than their own comments may reveal.  However, I earned my Bachelor of Arts degree from that same institution, in the same major course of study, in 1992, and taped TPIR everyday I had class at 11:00 A.M. so that I could have & enjoy my quiet "hour of Zen" sometime during the day.  I ended my college career by giving away several thousand dollars worth of prizes on campus in a homespun, homemade version of the show, complete with seven-foot tall Big Wheel and a Plinko board.  Stories about all of that are better saved for another day, because this story is long enough!  LOL.

Every semester, I ask the students in the introductory American government class that I teach to provide some basic background information about themselves, so that I can try to get to know them better.  My exams are difficult enough and I try to conduct my class in a unique way, so an icebreaker to start the festivities seems neighborly.